Because I Chose the Road Less Travelled ……


Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveller, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference

by Robert Frost

Sometimes, things in life happened by chance. At other times, they were by design; which very much reminded me of the movie The Adjustment Bureau, starring Matt Damon and Emily Blunt, and the Pixar movie Monsters, Inc. In The Adjustment Bureau, Matt bumped into Emily by chance in a hotel toilet and was looking for her ever since. Every time he tried to find her, the people from the Bureau, those with hat, would try to make him avoid bumping into her. The Bureau even sent their top guy, Thompson but in the end, the Chairman made them meet. In both The Bureau and Monsters, the characters passed through various doors and followed different paths.

Especially the Bureau movie, it reminded me of the various paths that we could take in life. Would you leave the major things in life by chance or would you prefer to lead the life you want to? I chose to design my life back in 1998. In college, I wanted so much to be an auditor but when I graduated, I did not want that kind of life; hence, I entered into commercial. Even in commercial, I decided I did not want to be an accountant (with due respect for my accountant friends, they loved what they do) but I wanted to differentiate myself. I focus on technology since as a financial analyst at that time, understanding how mobile technology works was important to me being an effective analyst in helping management decision-making. So after 3 years in Maxis, I left for Lucent to do pre-sales and got close to some of the engineers who were always willing to share their trade with me. I took the opportunity to learn more about engineering and the works. After leaving Lucent, I went back to Maxis and used the knowledge in network finance and network strategic planning.

After 13 years working, I decided to quit and pursue my MBA in technology management at ESMT in Germany. I wanted a unique MBA experience and I got it in 2010. At ESMT, I was lucky that I was able to pursue my new career in Deutsche Bahn (DB), a combination of my hobby in trains and passion for telecommunications in my new role as a service manager. And here I am in Frankfurt, getting ready to start work on 1 June.

Looking back at the last 14 years of my working life and 37 years of my life, I am glad I chose the road less travelled. And, like Robert Frost said in his poem, that has made all the difference. I am also glad that my family and friends have been supportive and encouraging throughout my journey. I owed them my experience.

Jimmy Low

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

